Why GCC?

The GCC is also known as the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC; مجلس التعاون الخليجي), a political and economic union of the Arab states constituting the Arabian Peninsula, namely Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and United Arab Emirates. GCC also refers to the Gulf Cooperative Countries.

The GCC is part of Arabia. The area made up of the Arabian Peninsula, is located in the southwestern region of the Asian continent. Covering about 3 million square kilometers, the southeastern area of the peninsula is the Rub’al-Khali, the Empty Quarter, which is the world’s largest expanse of continuous sand.

Founded on 26 May 1981, the aim of the GCC collective is to promote coordination between member states in all fields in order to achieve unity. The GCC share similarities while each country retains their unique characteristics. We have chosen to focus on this region specifically given the shared interests and synergies.

The GCC region is experiencing impressive growth while navigating holding onto its traditions, heritage and rich legacies.


Want to learn more about the GCC? View this fact sheet.